Kayak research

I am a student at CPIT conducting some research into kayaking accidents and incidents and how this influences confidence and motivation. I am looking for people to do a taped interview of their experience. If you are interested or would like more information you can post a message with your email address and I can get hold of you or feel free to send me an email at segalhayley@hotmail.com.

kylie.(bubs).tomlin's picture

Hey Buddy hows things going? I saw that you were doing this and thought that I have a couple of stories, but cause they are both to do with sea kayaking they might not be any use. Im up in the bay of islands at the mo. One of my kayaking things was that i was the first on the scene to a 19 year old boy who had drowned. (long story, but for our kayaking tours, we kayak up to a waterfall, pple often jump off the cliff around the side of the falls). The boy had done a flip and landed flat on his belly. I was first there, two other guys were in the water with me at the same time, and we did CPR for about 20mins, and then finally took him via a peddle boat to the side where there were ambolence and that and they continued to work on him, but sadly he had passed away. The sad thing was that his mum and dad were there too, as he was on holiday with them from the uk.