Shoulder Restraint

I've heard that you can get some sort of shoulder restraint that stops you from raising your elbow above shoulder level (in order to prevent shoulder dislocation).
Has anyone heard of, or uses such a thing, or can provide info about this ?

Thanks
Andy

frankie.morgan-stock's picture

I am an occupational therapist and have a client who has a very unstable right shoulder joint which dislocates very frequently. I am interested in the shoulder restraint you have designed. my client has been quite a successful artist and has been in full time work. She is noe unable to work and can only mamage part of very few household tasks. At present she does not have a shoulder restraint but uses a make shift optionwhich has a neck strap. This is unsatisfactory.
Could you email me a visual of the restraint you have designed, twll me of the material it is made with,the cost of this inclusive of freightand where measurements need to be taken
Thank you for your help
Frankie

elaine.hines's picture

Hi Margie

Is this recommended for a rugby player with subluxation of the shoulders?

Can it be used on both shoulders at once?

Cost please and how long for delivery?

margie's picture

Hi there.
I have designed and patented a shoulder brace to decrease the risk of dislocation when paddling and doing other sports (rugby / skiing). It has been on the market for just over a year and the feedback has been really positive. I am a physio and have extensive experience working with canoeists and kayakers after working with British Canoeing for 5 years in the lead up to, and through Athens Olympics. The braces can be bought on-line (www.flawlessmotion.com) with a credit card. You need a measurement around your bicep (not flexed) and around your chest. Please e-mail if you have any questions.
margie@flawlessmotion.com.

Cheers

Margie.

aaron1's picture