Advice on Paddling in NZ

Forums: 

Hi guys,

I'm currently in my final year of University in England and I'm starting to sort out what I'm going to do when I graduate.

I'd quite like to spend a year over in New Zealand kayaking but I could do with a little advice to point me in the right direction.

Basically I would like to travel around NZ a bit and do some work as well, however my main purpose is WW kayaking.

Here's some background info:

So far my 6 years kayaking has taken me to white-water all around the UK, Sea kayaking in the Norweigen Fjords, Playboating in Western Canada and running rivers in the European Alps. I mainly paddle grade 3, 4 and 5 however my favourite kind of river is continuous grade 4 boulder gardens with the occasional bit of big stuff. I also enjoy big steep green waves.

So far the only things I've got down on my list of things to do are:

-Spend a while on the West coast of South Island Heli-boatin'
-Do a bungee jump somewhere
-Go playing at Full James
-Do a little Sea Kayaking in the Abel Tasman Park
-Get myself down to the Buller Fest

Can anyone think of better things to do?

I'm currently thinking of heading out about September 2004 and staying till May '05. I'm hoping to catch the snow melt and the summer. (If anyone thinks that this won't be the best time for personal kayaking on rivers as well as work please let me know.)

Other things that might be helpful to know:

I am a fully qualified kayak instuctor in the UK (BCU Level 3 Inland) equivalent to the NZOIA level 1 and also a raft guide on the Lower Durance in the French Alps (BCU Level 1 - Site Specific). I have also done a Swift-Water Rescue Course Unit 1 and have done a recent first aid course.

Other qualifications include instructing sailing and winsurfing as well as powerboat driving.

If anyone's got any general advice about wicked areas to go / seasons or rivers please let me know. I suppose the only other things I would like to know are: